Try to be better than yourself

CRITICAL:  What do you think Faulkner might have meant by the caption that is around his neck in the image at the top of this blog?

Don’t bother just to be better than your contemporaries or predecessors. Try to be better than yourself – William Faulkner

I believe that Faulkner is stating that rather than trying to make yourself better than others and outdo their achievements, one should focus on improving themselves and always striving to do better than they have achieved in the past. This statement is highly impressionable as it challenges responders to reject competitiveness and instead focus on bettering themselves as an individual. This can act as a catalyst allowing an individual to improve themselves and unlock new potential personally. It is my belief that Faulkner is attempting to communicate the irrelevance of trying to out do both “contemporaries or predecessors” because only in aiming to better yourself, can an individual reach their full potential.

7 thoughts on “Try to be better than yourself”

  1. Hey Natalie,

    I completely agree with your analysis of Faulkner’s words. Your style of writing made this entry all the more enjoyable to read and the points presented really made me think hard about the underlying message of this quote. Overall you executed this post very well!

    Keep up the good work, Michael.

    Like

  2. I agree that Faulkner was encouraging us to be the best that we can be. We better ourselves not by looking at our contemporaries and trying to better them, but look at the past, and leaders in the past. Look at the knowledge we now possess in comparison to the past, and make yourself better then what has come before. When thinking about self, look back to where you were…when you had little knowledge or little skill. Then look at where you are now and see the improvement, then strive toward tomorrow knowing that you can be better than you are today.

    “one should focus on improving themselves and always striving to do better than they have achieved in the past.” I believe you meant to say better than YOU have achieved in the past.

    “This statement is highly impressionable as it challenges responders to reject …” I am not sure what you are trying to say there, but the word impressionable would not be the correct word in this sentence.

    Hope my criticism helps.
    Dave

    Like

  3. Natalie, while I enjoyed reading your thoughts on Faulkner I would have loved for you to go into more depth regarding the topic as your response held immense depth and there was so much more that I think could have been discussed and explored. I particularly would have loved to read more about it being a catalyst for people. In saying this, I do also think you were straight to the point in your response which was great in giving your response direction and focus. Keep up the good work.  

    Like

  4. Hi Natalie,

    I also did this blog topic for this week and I feel as though we shared similar ideas. I love how you focused on aiming to be better than yourself, I would have loved for this to be a tiny bit longer so I could have had some more thoughts to comment on. Nonetheless, I completely agree with what you have said here.

    Great work, Alana.

    Like

Leave a comment